Go Back   Internet Business Forums > Search Engine Optimisation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2004, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Business Guru
 
Brian Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Posts: 7,719
Default www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Anyone seeing "adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML" in their logs is being "referrer spammed". Essentially, the people launch a spider to your site a number of times to get it in your referrer logs.

That way, if your logs/stats are public accessible (such as in the Ensim control panel) then your stats can be spidered, and the referrer spammer gets free backlinks.

The topic was addressed before here:
http://www.britecorp.co.uk/articles/...ing-website/6/

A particular nasty aspect here is that if you click through your stats, not only are you immediately set up with a shop trying to sell you "webmaster tools", but you are also providing a referrer link to your own stats - so if your stats are publically accessible, then you are inviting even more referrer spamming of your site.

The people responsible for it are the ones behind "webdevboard" and "devaddict.com" and according to reports at DigitalPoint Forums here, the IP to block is:

80.202.228.62

Annoying bustards.
__________________
SEO specialist
Brian Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
RWA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 278
Send a message via ICQ to RWA Send a message via AIM to RWA Send a message via MSN to RWA Send a message via Yahoo to RWA
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Thanks for IP Brian, the first IP to be added to my ban list.

I'm assuming this would be applicable to forums, seeing as it is some form of bot?

Last edited by RWA; 10-09-2004 at 08:15 PM.
RWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Business Guru
 
Brian Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Posts: 7,719
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Not sure what it hits precisely - but found it in plenty enough stats. IT apparently changes user agent so it's otherwise a sod to ban. The guy behind it is a complete prat, really.
__________________
SEO specialist
Brian Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
revsorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex, England
Posts: 317
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Are these the people that when you went to their forum you had to sign up to view the threads, and then you discover that there is no thread referencing your site, it was their spider?
__________________
Revs.org | Ecru
revsorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Business Guru
 
Brian Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Posts: 7,719
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Yep - that's the one indeed - that would've been the webdevboard they made you join.
__________________
SEO specialist
Brian Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 11:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
revsorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex, England
Posts: 317
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

I reported them to Google Adwords saying that they were generating Adwords traffic by spamming logfiles. Their adverts mysteriously disappeared.
__________________
Revs.org | Ecru
revsorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2004, 01:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Business Guru
 
Brian Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Posts: 7,719
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

You killed their income? No wonder they opened Admin Shop, then.
__________________
SEO specialist
Brian Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Business Guru
 
Brian Turner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Inverness, Highlands, Scotland
Posts: 7,719
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

They've added another URL to their referrer spammer list:

adminshop.com/OUR_FRIENDS.html

Pretty darn sad, actually.



__________________
SEO specialist
Brian Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2005, 07:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
clasione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

Admin shop has got my IP ADDRESS on the botom of thier site....

What the F**K

any suggestions to what the hell I should do?
clasione is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2005, 08:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
clasione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: www.adminshop.com/FRIEND_REVIEWS.HTML

forget it - spammers have some weird trick that generates link on visit..

followed my logs....
clasione is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.